Events

Explore the storehouse of Essex history and beyond

Join us for a talk on a range of historical subjects, or find out how to make the most of our wonderful Searchroom.

   

February

Essex History Group: 'Where Golden Happiness Begins'? Silver End Utopia and Britain’s Interwar Malaise

Tuesday 5 February, 10.30am-12.00noon

Tuesday 12 February, 10.30am-12.00noon

 

Searchroom Tour

Wednesday 20 February, 10.30am-11.15am

 

March

Essex History Group: Maldon Moot Hall

Tuesday 5 March, 10.30am-12.00noon

Tuesday 12 March, 10.30am-12.00noon

 

Searchroom Tour

Thursday 28 March, 10.30am-11.15am

 

April

Essex History Group: The Jamestown Brides - The untold story of England's 'maids for Virginia'

Tuesday 2 April, 10.30am-12.00noon

Tuesday 9 April, 10.30am-12.00noon

 

May

Searchroom Tour

Saturday 4 May, 9.30am-10.15am

 

Essex History Group: Fashioning the Foundlings - education and instruction at the London Foundling Hospital in the eighteenth century

Tuesday 14 May, 10.30am-12.00noon and 2.00pm-3.30pm

 

Essex on the edge – the experience of a county from the Hundred Years’ War to the Dissolution

Saturday 18 May, 10.00am-3.00pm

 

June

Essex History Group: Holidays with Play - Butlin’s at Clacton, 1938-83

Tuesday 11 June, 10.30am-12.00noon and 2.00pm-3.30pm

 

Searchroom Tour

Tuesday 18 June, 10.30am-11.15am

 

September

Essex History Group: Thames Sailing Barges – Past, Present & Future

Tuesday 3 September, 10.30am-12.00noon and 2.00pm-3.30pm

 

October

Essex History Group: The Witches of Elizabethan Essex

Tuesday 8 October, 10.30am-12.00noon and 2.00pm-3.30pm

 

 

November

Essex History Group: Cogs in the Machinery of War

Tuesday 5 November, 10.30am-12.00noon

Tuesday 12 November, 10.30am-12.00noon

 

December

Essex History Group: The Great Escape from Hong Kong

Tuesday 3 December, 10.30am-12.00noon

Tuesday 10 December, 10.30am-12.00noon

 

 

 

Cost of events

Many of our events are free or low cost. You can pay for events by credit debit card in person or by using our online booking system. We accept the following cards:

Visa logo Visa Electron logoMastercard logo Maestro logo JCB logo

If you are unable to pay by credit or debit card then you can pay by cheque or cash at the ERO office.

Terms and conditions

View the terms and conditions for ERO event bookings.